Clover In My Lawn on The Gulf Coast (Houston)

Why is clover grass seen as an enemy to a front lawn?  The clover is really quite green and lovely as opposed to the grass next to it.

p2190002

Our grass never really grows.  It is either dead or dominated by ugy weeds here in Houston.  I think it is a complete waste of time to install a sprinkler system that waters grass.  Everyone should be watering only flowers and gardens with vegetables.  We spent over $500 on grass sod after moving in and now our yard is dead.  My neighbors spend at least $100 on fertilizer and weed killer every year not including what they end up paying on their water bill.  Besides, it is too hot in Houston in the summer time to even go out and sit on the grass.

I like the clover.  It is the only thing that is green and kind of flowery growing in our front yard.  We are following the rules set out by our homeowners association and pulling up the green clover so that our green lawn can sprout anew.   The grass never sprouts.  The weeds sprout and we spend the summer mowing weeds.

I like the green clover.  I wish my lawn was covered with the stuff.

3 Responses

  1. Dear Aznos,

    I live in NC and have red clay and spent waaaay to much money last year trying to establish my lawn. I still have a zillion bare spots and the grass that we have still has huge weed clumps. Now, I noticed that 3 different types of Clover has come up and stayed green all winter. It is lush and never gets too tall. I love it and I’m going to keep it.

    H.

  2. Hey Aznos,
    Your homeowners association are idiots!
    Don’t they know that clover is not only drought tolerent, it self fertilizes, naturally controls weeds, re seeds it self for 2-3 years, and you don’t have to mow it because it only grows about 6 inches max and ProTime Lawn Seed has developed a MicroClover that is even smaller! Plus in the spring it has tiny white flowers.
    Sheesh, and wasting all that time on sod! Tell them to quit fighting nature and wake up! Mother Nature is giving you a solution to your dead lawn problem, listen to her!
    It is time for all of us move into the new millennium and actually be active in caring for our environment instead of blindly destroying ourselves.
    I live in Los Angeles where it is dry and hot and I just moved into a place that has a front yard that is a blank canvas and I am having so much fun learning about and shopping for drought tolerant plants like ornamental grasses and succulents. Plus I just love the way they look, so modern with their simple lines and graphic shapes.
    Anyhow, I think you are on the right track with the clover. Maybe if you enlightened the association with some eco facts, they might have a change of heart?
    Good luck!
    Suzy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

